Votes: 6 50.0%
  • UPenn

Votes: 6 50.0%

• Total voters
Aug 2, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi everyone,

First, I'll apologize because this is a long one. Second, I've posted this on the Penn post-bac thread and the SFSU thread, but haven't heard anything back. I'm curious how the non-trads would weigh in on this because I'm having a tough time deciding, myself (and I feel the older we are the more weight these decisions may carry).

So, I'm in a bit of a pickle. I was accepted at both SFSU and UPenn's PB programs. I'm currently a CA resident, but grew up in NEPA and still have family in the state. I'm a non traditional student (29yo) and recent graduate of UCLA (psych). My overall GPA is 3.64, definitely a career changer (only completed intro bio and intro chem courses to transfer from CC to UC), I've got volunteer experience in hospital with UCLA Health, research experience at UCLA (psych), and volunteering experience in a few other non-medical-related positions. Haven't taken the MCAT or GRE.

Here's what I've found/my thoughts on each program so far:

Penn - Pros
Ivy League prestige (but some adcomms say this is irrelevant)
Linkages to great medical schools and name recognition
Night classes
Cheaper to live in Philly, but more expensive to attend Penn
Night classes, so opportunities to volunteer/intern during the day
Discounts on MCAT prep (Kaplan, Princeton)
Tutoring available
Personalized advising (anyone confirm how "individualized" this is?)
Application assistance, mock interviews, workshops/seminars, committee letter
Plenty of research and volunteer opportunities in Philadelphia
Family relatively nearby (read: support system)
Public transit available (no experience with it, myself)
East coast attitudes/values (as opposed to SoCal)
I keep seeing different numbers, but a 60%+ acceptance to medschool

Penn - Cons
Competitive atmosphere