Post Baccalaureate Path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbuzz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I wanted to just post here what I have done/am doing to get into Med School, and would like some feedback from anyone and everyone.

I graduated from Rutgers in May 2011, on time with a 3.56 GPA (didn't start trying until junior year - finished my second year with a 2.4 ). I took no hard science classes, majoring in Political Science while minoring in Philosophy.

During the year I worked at a startup evergy company I decided I wanted to be a doctor, and have proceeded thus - taking calculus over the summer. Chem1 Bio1 Physics 1 in the fall, Orgo 1 Bio 2 Physics 2 in the spring, and calc 2 Orgo 2, and perhaps another science class financially permitting in the following fall. All these will be taken at Rutgers also and I WILL have around a 3.75 GPA overall in these sciences. (i also most likely will be part of Rutgers Post Baccalaureate program, but can't enter until fall 2013 due to timeline restrictions).

Further, I will be volunteering at my local hospital beginning June this summer, and perhaps after fall 2013 will find further volunteering opportunities during the time between Fall 2014 when I understand I can start medical school if accepted.

I am vey confident I will have at the very least a 34 on my MCATs.

HOWEVER. I have a felony on my record - third degree possession of marijuana with intent to distribute from January 2011 that won't be expunged until around December of 2017.

I would have no problem going to a Caribbean school or one in a different foreign country.

Sorry this is so long but I know for the first time in my life what I want to do, but am constantly troubled by my past and the consequences it could have.

Thanks for your time all.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
That felony could be a red flag for admissions, and you know this.