Post Step 1 Blues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted865881

Hello everyone. Just wondering if anyone in here feels like or has ever felt like I have been the past few months. Ever since I got a horrible score on step 1 (sub 210), I’ve been feeling horrible about myself. I used to be a confident person, but now I take any criticism in a hyper sensitive way. I gained so much weight studying for step and I feel extremely ugly. I feel like I will never reach the potential I thought I had. I am a US med student at a new DO school in the south. I was interested in a competitive specialty, but now those dreams have been crushed. I even did research in the specialty in the summer after M1. I did my FM rotation and hated it, however I loved my IM rotation. I hate how my academic performance is tied into my self worth and how it has been all throughout my life. Now that I have underperformed massively compared to my practice test scores that were in the 250’s, I feel so horrible... can anyone give any advice? I know that there will be immense pressure on step 2 and I hope I can do well so I can match. I’ve never felt so dumb and inadequate in my life and it has destroyed my self confidence. I constantly feel insecure about my academic abilities, looks, and overall potential. I used to have such high standards for myself and I feel like I’ll never reach them. I don’t or ever had any suicidal thoughts but just feel hopeless at times, and take criticism from preceptors in a bad way. Has anyone ever felt like this? If so, how did you build confidence back up and succeed on step 2/matching?

Members don't see this ad.