Postgraduate Endo Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jgucladds

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks! I'm a 4th year dental student at UCLA and in the process of applying for the Graduate Endo Programs across the nation. To this date, I have received 4 interview offers (Harvard, San Antonio, U. Washington, and UPenn) Is there any Endo residents out there who is willing to share their interview experiences from these schools? Any tips will be appreciated! Thanks.:clap:

Members don't see this ad.

Isn't it really difficult to get into endo programs straight out of dental school? What kind of class rank/board scores do you need to get an interview? I've heard lots of endo programs have like 100 applicants for 3 spots.

nug - it's not impossible. We usually have 1 or 2 each year who graduate and go straight into Endo.

I wish I could give you some insight jgucladds, but I am still a junior desperately waiting for senior year so I can start applying to post-grad. I have a question for you. Three of the schools you mentioned, Harvard, U. Washington, & San Antonio, are big research schools - especially San Antonio, their students scoop up so many of the AADR awards. Do you have a lot of research experience going into this process? I've noticed the attitude of many endo/ortho applicants at my school (Univ of Buffalo) is often "you just have to do some research so you can put it down on your resume. Don't go crazy with it. I just stood in a lab for 4 weeks and that was my research experience." Great if it works for them, but I am wondering if research oriented schools, like the ones you will interview at, might have looked at the quality and quantity of research you did and not just the fact that you "did something to put on the resume."

Any opinions?

Members don't see this ad :)