All Branch Topic (ABT) Potential for Medical Waiver

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Redtd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a current medical student hoping to join military medicine through FAP, although I have an almost decade old medical issue that I'm unsure will be waived, and I'd like to see if someone has some input on my chances to receive a medical waiver, or whether I should just simply not disclose it when I apply.

During Freshman year of undergrad (about 7-8 years ago), I was involuntarily hospitalized for an examination (48 hour hold), diagnosed with depression due to a suicidal gesture, but was released as I was believed to be no threat to myself after examination. Unfortunately my hospitalization was due to my immaturity and wasn't a particularly dire mental health issue, thus I was released promptly. I still hold that depression was not the issue, but nonetheless, I still have that diagnosis on my record. I was never on medication, and did not receive medication afterwards, and I have never made suicidal gestures or revealed feelings of depression since that unfortunate incident.

I know that incidents like these are very hard to receive waivers for, but given my circumstances, do you think there will be any chance of a successful waiver when I apply under the FAP program within the next few years?
"depression" persae is not a diagnosis, it's more like a symptom. A diagnosis would be Major Depressive Disorder (MDD), Bipolar Disorder, etc...and these diagnoses are not made as per 1 single short hospitalization (you have to be evaluated more thoroughly via outpatient f/u, etc). So you were likely NOT diagnosed with anything....so you may not even need a waiver.

Reactions: 1 user