DO Potential pharmacist to potential physician?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SlyGuy88

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I was wondering if I could get some input on my chances with my current stats. I'm not sure how unusual or not my situation is so first let me give you some background.

I did my undergrad at a state university in Michigan with the intention of becoming a pharmacist. I graduated last May (2013) with a bachelors in biology and earned a cGPA and sGPA of 3.3. I then took a year off after graduating to study for the PCAT and to log more hours of work in the pharmacy ( I work as a pharmacy technician for the last few years). After meeting all the requirements and jumping through all the hoops required for pharmacy school I was accepted to a school in Michigan and thought my future was set... Until I really thought hard about pharmacy as a career. As I gained more knowledge and witnessed first hand what a pharmacist does I no longer believe the profession is for me. I began searching for what I wanted to do with myself as a career and have decided on medicine, particularly family medicine. After shadowing both 2 healthcare professionals in a family practice setting ( 1 PA and 1 MD) I feel strongly that primary care medicine is what I want to do.

My stats:
cGPA: 3.30
sGPA: 3.30
MCAT: 28Q (10/8/10)

Over 1300 hours logged as a pharmacy technician.
Shadowed PA 80 hours
Shadowed family medicine practitioner (MD) 40 hours
2 letters of recommendation from upper level science professors (one was my advisor)
1 letter of recommendation from non-science professor
1 letter of recommendation from above-mentioned MD
A meager 10hours of volunteering I did once sophomore year.
And I'm semi-fluent in Spanish for whatever it's worth (Rosetta Stone :))