pre-business to pre-med (Berkeley) - help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lostnconfused

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i am currently a sophomore and thinking about switching from pre-business to pre-med. but i have some very basic questions that i desperately need help with:

1. what's the difference between Molecular Cell Biology/Integrated Biology/Public Health (at UCB more specifically)? - specifically how medical schools differentiate/judge them

2. what are the chances of getting into medical schools if you go to cal for an undergrad? i heard its really really hard and medical schools would rather take someone from a less rigorous school with a higher gpa than a lower gpa from cal

3. along with that, what's the average gpa for the above majors & the average gpa needed for medical schools? (i know gpa isn't everything but i would still like an estimate)

I was also thinking if i need to switch, i'll have to take a semester off to go to community college because i wont have scholarship for extra semester(s). id get my calculus (took 16A&16B already but they don't count for MCB) and physics out of the way perhaps? Do you think that could possibly be a legitimate excuse or it wouldn't really make a difference? What if I took a rigorous course load at a CC (i.e. 3 chemistry and 1 physics class all in one semester)? Would this also cause me to fall behind in the upper div courses if I decided to major in MCB or IB or PH?

Or if I majored in business like I had planned but did all the pre-requisites, would it not look as good as taking more science focused courses? I know that for law schools, they like for you to stand out in your major but I'm assuming it's different for medical schools?

Members don't see this ad.