Pre-DO ques

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by NMH2001, May 27, 2001.

1. NMH2001

NMH2001 Ferret Momma

I wanted to get some advice from some fellow pre-DO's about my situation. I have a BA in Bio with a 3.0 GPA, from there I transferred to a medical school to get a second undergrad degree in Medical Technology with a 3.62 GPA (3.54 sci). My total GPA for undergrad is 3.31 and 3.26 Science. Have 4 years EMT experience, 2 years phlebotomy and lab experience, and will be taking MCAT in Aug. How do the stats look for DO schools, and what can I do to improve my credentials. Oh yes...I am a NY resident. Thank you in advance for advice!!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Popoy

Popoy SDN Super Moderator

Resident [Any Field]
    Wooh there buddy.... You've shown a significant improvement in your stats. You definitely have something to offer the osteopathic medical school to which you will get accepted to with all the experience you've stated....

I say, you're looking pretty good to most osteopathic medical schools.... Did you get a letter of recommendation from a D.O. yet? Are you applying this year for next year's entering class?

As in most osteopathic medical schools, its not always the stats that would guarantee you an acceptance letter. But I'm sure you know that already....

Make sure you apply early, now if you'll be taking the August MCAT's and apply this year, then you're a bit late on the game.... but still very possible....

I say, if you want to improve your chances at this point, is to do well in your MCAT's and apply early. That's it.... So are you applying for Class of 2006? :cool:

4. Popoy

Resident [Any Field]
    Where are my manners.... NMH2001, WELCOME TO SDN!!! :D

5. NMH2001

NMH2001 Ferret Momma

Yes, I am taking the MCAT in Aug and will still be applying for the incoming class of 2006. Thank you for your advice!! :D

6. NMH2001

NMH2001 Ferret Momma

To Popoy: