Quantcast

Pre-med classes at Harvard Summer School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

decentdude

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
All,

I would like to start the Harvard Extension School summer of 2010 kicking it off with Gen Chem 1 and 2. My question for people that have taken 8 credit summer courses at Harvard is, how difficult would this be? I would be new to the culture of Harvard, and new to Cambridge, moving from Cali. I graduated last year in engineering from RIT, where the last summer I took 16 credits over the course of 10 weeks and got I think about a 3.6 that semester. Meaning I've taken summer courses before, with upper level engineering courses at a respected institution, and did fairly well. I just need to get a 3.5 in my first 4 courses at Harvard in order to get into the HCP program, and I don't want to put this in jeopardy by hitting the ground running. Any advice? All input is appreciated.

P.S. I also just completed a Chem intro course with lab and got an A in it, so it's still a little fresh in my mind.

stephster416

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you've taken summer classes recently, you know the drill - it's EXTREMELY fast paced. You also will have lab for all your pre-med classes. If you were able to do well in upper level engineering classes at a summer session pace, and you already have some basic chem knowledge, it sounds like it could be doable for you. I have met quite a few people who attempted to do Chem over the summer and dropped it because they couldn't handle the pace - you'll have to learn a week's worth of material solid in a day or two. Then again, those people hadn't done engineering in college. The chem staff at Harvard is also fantastic and really helpful.