pre-med school ratings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seasidewed

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior in high school and am considering pre-med/med school. Is there a list rating pre-med schools? Is it ok to attend a liberal arts school? Can you still get into med school that way? Should I major in biology? Thanks for any information. I am just beginning this search for a school and ned all the help I can get.

Members don't see this ad.

seaside-

More English majors are accepted into Medical School each year than any other major....History majors are next.
Medical Schools want to see a well-rounded, well-developed person. Major in Biology (like I am) if that's what you really want. Don't do it to improve your chances of getting into Medical School.
As for rankings of Pre-Med schools, find out the percentage of Medical School applicants that get accepted each year from the schools you are interested in. My school has a very high percentage of applicants get accepted.
Any other questions about pre-med and undergraduate stuff, feel free to email me.

For the medical school part, keep posting stuff in here...these are good people.

------------------
Josh Hazelton
[email protected]
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
"D.O. Wannabe"

Actually, the above post is only partly correct.

English and History majors have some of the highest acceptance *percentages*, not raw numbers. The reason for this is obvious--only the English majors who are stellar applicants actually apply to med school, whereas dang near every bio major applies.

Most med school freshman, you will find, actually majored in a science, usually biology or a related discipline.

With that said, it does not matter all that much what you major in, as long as you complete the necessary pre-med classes (biology, chemistry, physics, org. chem). It can matter what school you go to, though.