Quantcast

Pre Med Student/EMT: What kind of stethoscope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mellsworth21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Salutations:
I'm a Pre-Med student that's taking a local EMT class, since its required to purchase a stethoscope; I was hoping to to get one that will hold me through my first few years of med school. Any recomendations? :cool:

Depakote

Pediatric Anesthesiologist
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Salutations:
I'm a Pre-Med student that's taking a local EMT class, since its required to purchase a stethoscope; I was hoping to to get one that will hold me through my first few years of med school. Any recomendations? :cool:

Get a cheap $20 stethoscope, brand doesn't matter. You won't be listening for murmurs or subtle heart sounds while working as an EMT and the odds of it getting lost/damaged/stolen are way too good to be worth investing anything more. This will get you through the first 2 years of med school at least (maybe even all 4)

endocardium

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sure, you can get by with a cheapo steth, but if you have a bit more money to spend, I'd probably go with the Littmann Classic II SE. It's relatively inexpensive, so you can throw it around, has both a bell and a diaphragm, and it is good enough so that you actually might have a chance of hearing breath, bowel, and korotkov sounds in a loud, moving ambulance. The difference was astounding, for me, sitting back there using a cheap stethoscope or my Littmann. Then again, it might just be me.

The gold standard for medical school is probably the Littmann Cardiology III, but it is going to be way overkill for EMT work (it's overkill for medical school as well). It's definitely a good stethoscope, but you might look a bit like a baffoon with it around your neck.

mellsworth21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score