Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Pre-Med Student Looking for a part time job in healthcare

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by chrisf7262, Dec 15, 2008.

1. chrisf7262

Pre-Medical
    I am currently a post-bacc pre-med student looking for a part time job to earn some cash. I need the money desperately, and want to stick to a job that is within my field of study. I am currently enrolled in a hospital volunteer position at UCLA in the recovery room, which has been an amazing experience thus far. I currently applied for a few positions in various hospital ER's where I would be taking patient records/histories, but am waiting to hear back and have been told they may not be hiring until next summer. I would love to somehow work in the hospital or shadow a physician, but I know these things are difficult for students to attain. Any suggestions on good pre-health jobs in the greater Los Angeles area where I could start right away that do not require any special certifications (EMT,EKG tech, etc.)? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

2. justdoit31

5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    No clue about the LA area but in Atlanta you can be a patient care tech without a previous certification... online it says for nursing students, CNA, etc but I know a ton of people who have applied and gotten hired- I would discuss this possibility with the hospitals- in my experience the Children's hospital and smaller local hospitals are most receptive (though I don't work there- I just volunteer and work closer to home)

3. utjsm08

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I just got a job as a Phlebotomist. They train you from the beginning. Check it out!!!

4. shaggybill

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]