1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

pre-med student with a question about antihistamines

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by evoviiigsr, May 6, 2007.

1. evoviiigsr

7+ Year Member

First off, I'm just a pre-med student with a question that I thought you guys could easily answer:

I know that antihistamines like diphenhydramine are CNS depressants. This would mean it decreases heart rate. BUT, I've taken it before and had an increase in heart rate. I did some reading and found out that antihistamines have anti-muscarinic effects, which I presume will only affect the parasympathetic nervous system. Since HR is controlled by the vagus nerve, a decrease in parasymp. activity should increase HR.

I've tried researching it, but I'm having trouble. SO my question is, why is diphenhydramine supposed to decrease heart rate but can sometimes increase it?

My second question is: what part of the CNS is specifically depressed and what is the general mechanism

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. colbgw02

colbgw02 Delightfully Tacky
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Okay, so I did a brain dump of most of the crap you just said about 3 years ago, but...

Apart from their anti-histamine effects, they also have anti-cholinergic effects, which can cause tachycardia. As to why it affects some people more severely, or in some cases causes an opposite reaction, I always thought it was just idiosyncratic.

4. Tired

Tired Fading away
    7+ Year Member

The brain part.

5. tulane06

tulane06 Private Joker
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Scratch that

6. evoviiigsr

7+ Year Member

Thanks for you reply