Pre-Med to Pre-Vet, going back to my original dream!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicinejourneys

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay let me give a back story...
I am a sophomore Biology/Chemistry major and when I originally came to my current university, I was labelled as Pre-Vet. After some negative experiences volunteering at the shelter and a bad Zoology professor, I ultimately switched to Pre-Med, I did this really because I was having a hard time finding experience and everyone discouraged me with how competitive it is to get into Veterinary school. I have been thinking a lot about going back to being Pre-Vet, so much so, that it keeps me up at night because I think that I am making the wrong decision to not follow Vet Med.

I have medical experience as a Medical Scribe in the Emergency Department (around 600 hours)
I have around 100 hours of volunteering in an animal shelter.
I also have volunteer hours through my church serving the homeless. I am also a worship leader for my church.
I am also starting a research project next semester.
My cGPA is a 3.7 and my sGPA is around a 3.6

My in-state and dream school is Michigan State for reference.

What steps can I take to get back on the Pre-Vet track? It is quite hard to get experience working alongside a Vet or even shadow in my area, but I am looking into being a Vet Assistant or work at a Doggy Daycare.
I know I need to get shadowing hours up and I am going to look into it but I do not know any Vets personally so it has been a little difficult.
What are good Pre-Vet jobs to have that are easy to obtain? How can I make my resume stand out to Vet Schools? Are there DVM/PhD programs?

Members don't see this ad.

I was having a hard time finding experience and everyone discouraged me with how competitive it is to get into Veterinary school.