Pre-med turned pre law

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lab 123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! This is my first post and I'm not sure whether this's the right place to post this question but I think at this point any opinion might help. I'm a sophomore in a top-10 university majoring in biology and psychology. For the first three semesters in college I have been a premed. I have finished all the premed classes and had a 3.9+ GPA and have been working in molecular biology lab since first semester. All of my ECs are also solely pre-med oriented (Relay for life, Global Brigades, volunteering etc.). But now that I don't feel as passionate about science classes and medicine in general as I was in the future and am looking more towards law school (science or business law?). But I'm also really concerned that the ECs that I have been investing the most time in (especially the Cancer Biology lab, from where I might get published) will be completely useless for law schools. Could anyone share some ideas about my chances into getting into law schools (potentially the very top ones?) and what should I do with my ECs (And what should I focus on if I want to do pre-law)?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Get a phD in mol cell bio, and then go to law school for patent law. They make $$$$$$ apparently.

Reactions: 1 user
All that matters for law school is GPA and LSAT. You could *literally* have a blank résumé, but as long as you are in the school's 90th percentile (random number), you'll get in.
If you are borderline, great ECs help, but it's nothing like medical school.

Members don't see this ad :)
lab 123 said:
...But now that I don't feel as passionate about science classes...

Get a phD in mol cell bio, and then go to law school for patent law. They make $$$$$$ apparently.

Not being passionate about science is probably the worst red flag you can have going into a PhD program.