Pre Medicine experience.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fxfalcon35

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a first year student at a less than stellar small liberal arts college in New Jersey. I have alot of AP credits that I am using for my general education requirements. Enough credits that I am considered a sophomore. I will take summer courses and will hopefully graduate in three years. I am a Biology BA major, so I will have half science and half general courses. I am not using AP credits for science courses, and will not take science classes in the summer, because I really want to build up a strong science background. Also, I plan on graduating with honors; I don’t know how much that will help?

Anyway, I am sure that I want to become a physician. However looking at these forums and other boards, it seems really competitive. I have always expected it to be a challenge, and I am ready to start working really hard. So I have questions about how to start setting my self apart.
I am aware that GPA and MCATs are top priorities. Will alot of MCAT prep make a difference? I have never been great at standardized tests, so I am really worried. MY SAT score was only 1300 (Reading and math) and 1920 total.

Then the extracurricular are really important. Research is not a big deal at my college, so I am not sure if I will have as much experience in the research field. However, there are two hospitals near by where I will begin volunteering at one of them soon. Also, I plan on taking a three month night EMT course starting in January as I take my spring semester. There are various agencies around where I will volunteer as an EMT (at one of them) and eventually start working for pay.
My question is, will that EMT really be that much help? I am not sure if that will be good experience, but I am hoping it will be a good way to find a better position in the hospital.