Pre-Meds/Med Students with part time jobs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heinzmoleman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
just wondering how many pre med/ med students have jobs. I have no choice I must work in order to pay for living expenses. I work as a firefighter/Emt and it takes up alot of time, Ive kind of narrowed this down to being the root cause of not getting all A's. Anyone else struggle with school and a job. I also work on cars on the side for some extra cash.

Members don't see this ad.

i work. we all do what we can right?
character building?

I think it's pretty uncommon to be able to juggle a part-time job during med school from what I've heard unless you're lucky enough to snag one of those "I really can just sit here and study jobs" (designed for students) like at the library or some front desk position somewhere that doesn't get a lot of action. I definitely will be on the look out for such positions next year, but I won't hold my breath as I know many medical students just live entirely off of loans.

In undergrad I and many of my fellow pre-med friends had part-time jobs on or around campus...and by part-time I mean 10 hours a week on average. I worked for 2 years part-time as a research assistant. During my senior year I was lucky enough to find a job that a 3 yr-old could've done and it really was just an opportunity for me to study and make money at the same time when we weren't busy (it also included a lot of weekend and night hours). So combined with my research job I was actually pulling about 30 hours a week total...but fortunately I was able to study during a large majority of that time so it wasn't too bad.

Members don't see this ad :)