ASDF 686

10+ Year Member
Sep 14, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Pharmacy
What is your undergrad major and how long do you think it will take to complete with your pharmacy school pre-requisites?

Say you do a degree that has nothing to due with your major, how long will it take to complete the all the pharmacy school pre-requisites?

maximus0723

10+ Year Member
Oct 14, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
My major is Bio. It usually take 2-3 years even w.o any background to complete all the requirements. It took me 2 b.c I took summer classes.

As long as u have interest things will go quickly.

eightonesix

10+ Year Member
Aug 23, 2008
Bay Area, California
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
My undergrad major is Neurology, Physiology, and Behavior (NPB). It's pretty much the same thing as Human Physiology. A lot of the pre-reqs line up with major requirements so its not such a big deal. But looking at the way my classes are set up and the quarter system, it would take my two years with summers (strictly pre-reqs) and three years without summers.

I'm assuming your other question meant if you were, say, a music major trying to get into pharmacy school (like broad ends of the spectrum - not hating on the music majors), you could still complete the pre-requisites and graduate within 4 years depending on the major's unit requirements.

About the Ads

calisoca

10+ Year Member
Aug 29, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacy Student
If you can show proficiency in all of the prereqs then it won't matter what your major is; however, some institutions require a B.S. (and even if they don't require, often the majority of those accepted have one--no smart asses please, I know there are exceptions) so majoring in something that isn't science related may drop odds a little. Usually takes 2-3 yrs to complete the prereqs because students are concurrently completing courses for their major, provided it's unrelated. Hope that helps.

inquirer89

10+ Year Member