Pre-reqs: Finish Spring of Graduation vs. Summer Before Starting?

Jan 12, 2010
Status
Pre-Optometry
As someone that is very frustrated by the impacted anatomy + lab classes at the CA community colleges (since my UC school doesn't even offer it. That frustration is a whoole other story), does anyone know which schools require all the prerequisites to be done before graduation from undergrad?

In other words, which schools will not allow summer school classes right before orientation, to count towards the application. I only ask because as a junior, I may need to find an anatomy + lab class next summer (right before the start of summer school) because it is a pre-req for my #1 choice school- SCCO and highly recommended at my other choices.

Thanks and I hope this post makes sense :]

Oct 4, 2009
Status
Pre-Optometry
I'm a student graduating this May and attending SCCO in the fall. For SCCO, I was told at interviews (and signed a contract stating) that I will have to fulfill all the prerequisites before orientation. From that I assume that they don't care if you take those classes the summer after graduation, so long as final grades and transcripts are sent to them by their specified date.
Hope that helps, and good luck with your anatomy class search!

NorthernStar13

OSU c/o 2014
Feb 8, 2010
Status
Optometry Student
Western requires you to fulfill all pre-reqs by the Spring semester before matriculation.

Schools that I know of that you can take summer classes (as long as they are completed prior to orientation): ICO, PUCO, OSU.

physicslover

7+ Year Member
Dec 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Optometry
im in the same boat. do u think its a bad idea to do calc, physics and orgo in one summer term :S:S

Commando303

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 12, 2009
Status