PonderingChoice

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
Hi, just curious when pre-requisites typically expire for most schools, since I began taking General Chemistry in Fall of 2003. I know I could do some research, but posting here for a general vibe is easier than checking/e-mailing multiple schools. I'm hoping it's typically after 9 years for most schools, right?

Passion4Sci

LML
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Mar 18, 2009
Palo Alto, CA
Status
Pharmacy Student
The preponderance of schools in California accept pre-requisites up to 5 years after they were completed. I'd honestly be really surprised if schools would take pre-requisites that are 9 years old. I graduated with my last bachelor's degree in 2004 and I hardly remember anything from it, and that was only 5 years ago.

OP
P

PonderingChoice

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 8, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
Right, but that means someone has a year or two (depending on how you count it) after graduating with a B.S. before their pre-requisites start to expire. I am pretty sure there are some schools which accept pre-requisites up to 9 years old, I suppose the question is how many. :p Time to send out a few e-mails.

Last edited:

UBCmicrobi

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 22, 2007
Vancouver
Status
Pharmacy Student
Some of my first year pre-reqs were from waay back in the day, like '01-02 for biology and English (and I used these pre-reqs for the 08-09 application cycle).

sungieality

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 26, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
Schools vary in terms of prereq expiration, so you should just ask them. I know that UCSF for example, accepts prereqs regardless of how old they were (Joel said they had an applicant whose transcripts dated to the 1970's).

Jul 22, 2009
Status
Pre-Pharmacy