Premed classes and working

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NubianPrincess

Perpetually Bored
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Everyone keeps telling me that you cant be pre-med and have a job. I want to work 20 hrs a week, and people think that its impossible. I know that alot of studying is envolved, but if I don't work, I'll worry myself to death about money. I can barely afford my college and, while most of my money will be earned on spring break and summer vacation, I still want to have a steady part time job. Anyone have experience or insight to offer? I would work on campus, but since its my first year all that's really offered is dining hall work, which I truly dont want to do. :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Nubian,

During my entire premed career I've worked 30-35 hours a week, both on and off campus. I've done well academically, so I think working 20 hours a week would be fine. However, since it's your first semester, maybe you should wait until next semester to get a job, just to make sure you don't get overwelmed.

But saying premed is "impossible" with a job is absolutely ridiculous.

I agree with racegirl. To get into medical school, you need more than your good grades anyway. You need to learn to manage your time so that you are able to participate in extracurriculars, volunteer, study for the MCAT, etc. So, why shouldn't you be able to have a job? Personally, I killed two birds with one stone, working in a hospital did more for me than boost my resume for med school. I definately needed the money too!

Members don't see this ad :)
Some would question why...but...

During my Premed years, I worked one full time job (approx 50 hours per week), and a part time lab job (approx 20 hours per week). I earned approx $300,000 during my five years of undergrad.