Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Premed question

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by mh2002ny, Nov 30, 2002.

1. mh2002ny

mh2002ny Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi. I am new to this forum and I'm a premed student starting college this January. Being that i am 16 years old, right now just about my only option is to attend my local community college. People have told me that having courses from a community college on my transcript can put me at a disadvantage when it comes to application time. I was just wondering how severe of a problem this can be on my application. I plan on transferring to a 4 year collge or university as soon as i accumulate 24 credits which should me by next fall or the spring of 2004. I am also serious about attending medical school and plan on doing well and getting clinical experience before i take the MCAT and apply. I would just like to know if taking my first few premed courses at a community college and then taking more advanced courses(I plan on pursuing a science major, possibly biochem.) at my 4 year school would be harmful for my application. If someone with a bit of experience on this or who knows about it can give me some advice i would appreciate it. Thanks.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. some schools wont take pre-med prerequisites from community colleges, u can decide not to apply to those schools (they are few), but to be on the safe side i would say its advisable to take ur prerequisites at a four year college.

4. 14457

14457 Guest

Pre-Medical