PreMed Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NKaur92

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Going into my Junior Year of Undergraduate school and I'm having strong doubts about the kind of applicant I stand amongst others.
I did horrible the first year of Undergrad having a cumulative GPA of less than 3.0, and then sophomore year I achieved a GPA for 3.82 & 3.72 for both semesters.
I currently have a cumulative GPA of 3.4 and a lower GPA for my sciences.

I have not taken research yet and I have been part of a Pre-Health/ Retroact Club since freshman year.

I also worked as a Medical assistant at a Urologist office for 3 months of Summer 2011. I was assisting the surgeons in conducting procedures such as cystoscopies and biopsies.
I worked 3 days a week there, giving 7-8 hours each day.

It was during those 3 months I realized that medicine was the field I wanted to pursue a career in. Working alongside with 2 different physicians both great at what they do, encouraged me to pursue the goal much more.

I know right now I have a lot to work on, but I just don't know where to start from.
I need to focus on my GPA and bring it up, I also have to start preparing for my MCATs.
I have taken all the science classes and will be taking Physics this coming Junior Year.

There is so much for me to do to make myself a considerable applicant, are there any suggestions as to what I should do next?

And what are the thoughts about med schools in the Caribbean? I want to become a Medical Doctor and DO schools are not something I am considering.

Thanks for your advice.

Members don't see this ad.