Premed thinking about Navy HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

barasch

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks for reading my post. I’m a premed student who is enrolled in Bryn Mawr College’s postbaccalaureate program starting in August. Though I’m a long ways away from medical school, Bryn Mawr has a good program and places over 93% of students completing the program in medical schools. I’m a little bit of a worry wort, so I may be approaching this too early. Forgive my naivete; please read on and offer advice.

I’m leaving a career to pursue my dream of medicine and I already have a family (wife and 18 month old daughter) so the financial incentives of the HPSP are very compelling. I am trying to examine myself and see if I could become a Navy doctor.

I’ve done a fair amount of reading about the HPSP and understand a lot of the benefits, and I realize that this message board isn’t the best place to ask questions about the benefits, but would the HPSP provide health insurance that covers my family as well as me?

I am a peaceful man and was against the war in Iraq. Having said that, I strongly support our country doing everything it can to provide the best medical care for our soldiers, sailors, their families, and veterans. There is a very clear distinction between our nation’s policies and wars and the service men & women who execute these policies. I would be proud to serve our country as a physician in any of the armed forces.

Though I consider myself to be a liberal, I appreciate discipline and structure. I’m 30 years old now, and have worked in smaller, more innovative and entrepreneurial companies and found them to be too chaotic. I currently work for the state government and, though the rules and structure can be stifling, enjoy it for the most part.