Prenuptial agreements, finance, women, children

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

touchadream

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ladies, I am seeing a lot of single moms, and some ugly divorce situations, wondering if you are thinking about finances, children, divorce, and especially considering prenuptial agreements? While it doesn't seem like a "nice" topic for the engaged, I do see a great need to settle up while in love, rather than while enraged later.

Members don't see this ad.

The problem with a prenup is that life changes. So the only way I would ever agree to one is if it was re-evaluated every year, and that might make it less enforcable. My husand and I do not have a pre-nup, he earns a reasonable 6 figure salary, I'm a student.

For example, my husband came into our marriage with a rental home (I had recently sold my home for relocation before we started dating.) When we wanted to sell that home so he could contribute to a new home (I also contributed) it took 19 months to evict the tenants, who did a massive amount of damage.

Now, if we were in a pre-nup, how would we have handled that? sold it at a loss (his loss?) sold it at a loss and shared the loss? (his bad choice in renters) did the repairs (if we paid someone else it would have still been a loss and if he did the repairs which took 3 months of 60-80 hour weeks, it would have been a huge financial loss) and sold?

What did we end up doing? I moved to the house and did all the repairs and clean up. We sold the house for a $380,000 profit (it was in danger of being condemned.) how is that money determined? who broght that money in? His investment was important, but it would have had 0 return (and a cost) if I hadn't taken the time to do the work. If we had a pre-nup that defined what each of us walked away with, I'd want that time compensated for. We don't, so we both do what is best for us in the long run.