1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Preoxygenation before intubation in cardiac arrest?

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by zuki, May 26, 2008.

1. zuki

Should we preoxygenate patients before a intubating a cardiac arrest patient? Why?

Anyone have any journal articles/etc relevant?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. coprolalia

coprolalia Bored Certified
    2+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    In the words of one of my favorite attendings in such a situation when I was an intern trying to bag-mask a moribund patient with a heavy beard and doing so quite badly... "JUST STICK THE F***ING TUBE IN!!"

No, you don't preoxygenate. You secure the airway and give oxygen via the best route possible, the endotracheal tube.

-copro

4. dfk

dfk Membership Revoked
    Removed 7+ Year Member

agree.
    intubate s/b first priority.
    current ACLS protocol is essentially doing "away"
    with the ventilation part.
    so, compress at will..

5. Leinie

Leinie ASA Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Are you in Hershey? I recognize that quote.

6. Planktonmd

Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    To my knowledge there is no contraindication to mask ventilating the dying patient with 100% O2 while you get ready to intubate, and why not, you can call this preoxygenation if it makes you happy.
    Actually I think that people who are trying to die really appreciate it if you give them oxygen as fast as you can, and many times the fastest way to give oxygen is mask ventilation.

7. nutmegs

nutmegs ASA Member
    7+ Year Member