Preparing for Medical School

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Rebecheka, Jan 31, 2000.

1. Rebecheka

Rebecheka New Member

Hi. I am currently a sophomore at a private liberal arts college, and I am a biology major. I am interested in attending an osteopathic college when I graduate.

My school does not have a strong biology program, so I do not receive a lot of help from my advisors concerning my future plans. Also, no one from my school has ever entered an osteopathic school.

What should I be doing now to prepare for the MCAT and medical school? Should I be doing specific activities during the school year and summers? If anyone could give me any advice, I would appreciate it. Also, if you can give me any specifics about what to look for in a medical school and which ones are the "best," I would be grateful.

Rebecca

------------------
    Romans 12:2

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Nanook

Nanook Senior Member

Reba--

As a post-bacc student looking back at all the opportunities I missed, here are some tips on things I wish I would have done:

--find a physician (a DO, if you want to go to osteopathic school) to shadow and/or get to know. His/her rec letter will be important. This sounds more difficult than it is--it just takes some initiative.

--There are all kinds of summer medical research programs out there, including one at Ohio COM. They usually pay around $2000 for 10 weeks work, which is around enough to break even, sometimes less. Start applying now for one this summer. Here is a URL to get you started: http://www-hl.syr.edu/hpap/sumprgs.HTM
    These programs are mostly for minorities, but some will accept others. Also check out Baylor University's page for the SMART program at http://www.bcm.tmc.edu/smart/

--volunteer somewhere medical. A local hospital, EMT squad (what I did), or whatever. Your university may be able to hook you up with something.