Preparing to start med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DCDocGal

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I just got accepted off the waitlist for a DO school, which I'm ecstatic about! However, I'm a nontrad student who finished up my courses about 2 years ago and took the MCAT last summer (2009). I haven't really been immersed in my old science books since then obviously.

Any advise on what I should refresh my memory on before I start? I realize that I'm going to be expected to hit the ground running on day one and I want to make sure I'm prepared. I've been reading up in my old anatomy and physiology book. Any other advise?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

1. Get a big study table and light
2. Get a comfy chair
3. Find out what books your upperclassmen reccommend to buy and see if you can get them on discount. Don't buy the books the school reccommends, only the books that the upperclassmen reccommend at least to start with.
4. Spend all the dough you just saved on a nice vacation.

Good luck!

Get a comfy chair

Getting a good chair is so unbelievably amazingly important. Even though OMT does seem to be able to work miracles at times, the last thing any med student needs is to be unable to sit for more than a few minutes because of a bad chair. Go all out and get that thousand-dollar chair if that's what it takes...

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi there,

I just got accepted off the waitlist for a DO school, which I'm ecstatic about! However, I'm a nontrad student who finished up my courses about 2 years ago and took the MCAT last summer (2009). I haven't really been immersed in my old science books since then obviously.