Prereqs for PA and physician

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OHNAILS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just something I have been noticing for many years. I hear a great amount of students stating that PA prerequisites are basically the same as MD/DO prereqs. That is false information. As a former PA and now physician, it is interesting to note that there is so much variability between admission prereqs for PA programs. And some of those admission requirements for certain PA schools don't even compare to the med school prereqs. I am specifically referring to the coursework and not clinical experience.

For instance, in looking at Hahnemann's program one can see that only 1 course in general chemistry with a lab is actually required. No orgo or physics is required.

Medex's program prereqs has a great deal of flexibility, as far as which science courses one chooses to take. This is not true for the med school prereqs. I am not even talking about the clinical experience that is required. But, even so, one could easily get experience for the medex program.

Some PA schools don't even have an entrance exam. None require calculus.

Now IF one majors in biology/zoology before going to PA school than obviously the premed reqs will be done, but I know quite a few PAs whom were not science majors. Many say that the prereqs are almost the same for PA and physician, but having experienced both I know they are not. If one takes the time to compare them, you can see what I mean. After PA school and a grad program, I still had prerequisites and the MCAT to take. This is because there were many prereqs that were not required for the PA school I attended.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
major troll. new account today. If this person is a pa I am a neurosurgeon.
please don't anyone respond after this. I know I won't.

Last edited by a moderator: