Prerequisites at a community college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gibson777

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
A few questions, just finished up my first year at a community college here in California. I am majoring in business yet I have some room to knock out some prerequisites for med school as well. Academically I am motivated to complete the prerequisites and feel like I am on the right track. I finished with straight As both semester and one B in Calc II. Anyways, at this point the only class I can take is Chem or OChem at the community college next semester, but I heard the series of classes has to be taken consecutively. This may be an issue and I don't know which class to tackle first in the scheme of having to take them at a University instead. Any advice or insight?

Members don't see this ad.

A few questions, just finished up my first year at a community college here in California. I am majoring in business yet I have some room to knock out some prerequisites for med school as well. Academically I am motivated to complete the prerequisites and feel like I am on the right track. I finished with straight As both semester and one B in Calc II. Anyways, at this point the only class I can take is Chem or OChem at the community college next semester, but I heard the series of classes has to be taken consecutively. This may be an issue and I don't know which class to tackle first in the scheme of having to take them at a University instead. Any advice or insight?

You have to take Gen Chem 1 and 2 before Organic Chem 1 and 2 since they build on each other. Make sure those classes transfer to the university you are going to. You can take gen chem at the cc then organic at he university. Or you can take them all at the cc. Doesn't matter.

Also, make sure that you look at the prereqs for the 2015 MCAT, since they are changing.