Previous med applicant, I have a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msdent123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am currently two years out of college and work in a hematology medical research lab at Harvard Med. I made a tough decision a few years ago to take the MCAT and apply to medical school instead of dental school and ended up scoring poorly on the MCAT and not getting in to medical school. I have spent a lot of time since then with an uncle of mine that is a dentist and I currently spend one day a week shadowing at a local dentist office in Boston, which should amount to over 100 hours before I would be applying to schools. I won’t go too much into the decision making process, but I am very confident that I will have made the right decision this time to apply to dental school.

I studied for the last few months and took the DAT and got AA: 20 TS: 21 PAT: 19 and graduated from college with a 4.0. In addition to that I have published 4 papers (1st author on one and 2nd on the other three), was the captain of varsity tennis team in college and have volunteered for over hundred hours in a few different settings.

I do not foresee myself quitting my current job, mostly because it pays the bills, keeps me in Boston, still find it to be a productive and rewarding thing, and do not want to try to find a new job in this current economy, but am looking for suggestions as to what I can do on top of this. Is my shadowing at a dental office the best thing that I can be doing? Is it enough? If not, do you have any better ideas?

If anyone has had a similar experience and can offer any insight that would be great. I was wondering what of this information the Dental Schools will ask for? That I took the MCAT? If so, will they want to know scores and dates?