Private vs. Public

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sartre79

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did any current Med students choose one over they other...and how do you feel about it now. I'm considering the Private over the Public, despite the cost, and was hoping to hear perspectives from others who faced the same decision. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I would only choose private over public if the private is BETTER in terms of academics/location/facilities/etc. I'm assuming you are deciding between Creighton vs. S.D, so perhaps make a list of the pros and cons of each school and see why you'd want to pay more for your medical degree. Ask yourself "are the benefits worth the extra money to go out of state?".

I am no expert on this, but it is my understanding that state schools often have an agenda to push students into primary care while private schools just want your money.

Members don't see this ad :)
Figure out what the private school is offering you that the state school isn't, then calculate what the difference in cost of attending will be over the four years and with interest, then ask yourself if what the school is offering is really worth that much money to you. Sometimes with very large sums it is useful to translate the amount into an object that amount can buy or the amount of your time it would take to earn it when you are a resident. For me I found that the things I liked about the private school weren't worth 120K (+ interest), but no one can tell you if the things you like about your school may be worth the amount it would cost you.

I am no expert on this, but it is my understanding that state schools often have an agenda to push students into primary care while private schools just want your money.