Problem with State Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zach1201

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently changed my residency. When I registered for the MCAT, I was a NY resident (was in the process of changing residency). When I received my score report for the MCAT, my state residency is listed as NY. The problem is that I am currently an IL resident. I've contacted AAMC and they've led me along and done nothing to fix the problem.

My perdicament is that this is what is holding up my submission of the AMCAS. Any suggestions as to how to expedite the process?

P.S. AAMC is slow because of the D.C. area flooding!

Members don't see this ad.

zach1201 said:
I recently changed my residency. When I registered for the MCAT, I was a NY resident (was in the process of changing residency). When I received my score report for the MCAT, my state residency is listed as NY. The problem is that I am currently an IL resident. I've contacted AAMC and they've led me along and done nothing to fix the problem.

My perdicament is that this is what is holding up my submission of the AMCAS. Any suggestions as to how to expedite the process?

P.S. AAMC is slow because of the D.C. area flooding!

I don't think this would really slow down your process. The instructions state something along the lines of "If you have residency in more than one state, you must choose one."

I know that is NOT your issue here, but I mean this to say that a difference in residency between MCAT and AMCAS App would most likely not cause a slowdown. If anything, you will just have to show the IL school that you are in fact a resident (when/if they ask for this proof). Otherwise I think you're fine.