Professors: How and Who to Ask for the Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prospectivevet

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

So, the applications process is finally here and like many of you I have been anxiously preparing my admissions application. Right now, I am trying to figure out the best way to ask former professors that I have had for a reference request/eLOR.

Well...I graduated at the end of last year, and unfortunately I live hundreds of miles away from my old school. Thus, I have had some difficulty determining the best way to ask for a letter.

Obviously, you want to ask your potential letter writers for a reference in person. My plan is to submit an e-mal and ask at the meeting. Either way, any advice that they have for me would be extremely helpful.

There are three professors that I could potentially ask

The main problem is I don't have any non-academic experience with two of these professors outside the occasional chat about my future. Although I did very well in both of their classes and chatted with them a few times, I'm a little afraid they have forgotten details by now...So, if that's the case, would scheduling an interview type meeting with them to update them on my life be enough to get a good LOR?

Thus... I'm stressing over both whom to request to meet with and ask for the letter and also what my e-mail request should actually say.

Does anybody have any advice about the letter or who would be best to ask? I'm really afraid of asking the wrong person. I would really appreciate any advice, I'm thinking about this way too much!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Obviously, you want to ask your potential letter writers for a reference in person.