Proper Title for non-EM trained doc working in ED

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

figs1

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am an IM graduate working in the ED. I am filling out my application on ERAS and i am having trouble describing my title. What is the proper way to describe my position? I do pretty much everything the board certified EM doc does, including teaching students and working with residents.

Do I describe my position as Emergency Department Physician? or Attending Physician in the ED?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

figs1 said:
Hi,
I am an IM graduate working in the ED. I am filling out my application on ERAS and i am having trouble describing my title. What is the proper way to describe my position? I do pretty much everything the board certified EM doc does, including teaching students and working with residents.

Do I describe my position as Emergency Department Physician? or Attending Physician in the ED?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

:confused:

I think Emergency Medicine physician would be most appropriate. It will be obvious from the remainder of the application that your training is in IM. That doesn't change the fact that you are an Emergency medicine physician.

I think Emergency Medicine physician would be most appropriate....