Pros/Cons of OB/GYN vs. FM speciality in OB

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

apple638

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just wanted to know what the
pros/cons are between doing a residency in OB/GYN and doing a residency in Family Practice and specializing in OB.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi:

I am not an expert but I think it depends on how much of a "hard-core" OB person you want to be and whether you want to see a broader patient base than just OB-gyn issues. If you want to do high-risk patients as an FP you may run into some insurance issues since OB insurance is so expensive - also in larger cities most high-risk patients would be seen by the OBs. If you are rural minded then it may be different. Hope this helps.

M-

I'm sort of in the same boat as the original poster. I love OB, and while I love sexual health education and care, I'm not all about hysterectomies, ex laps for ovarian pathology, fertility medicine... I just want to freakin' deliver babies! It's a tough call and I welcome any other perspectives that might help...

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by apple638:
•I just wanted to know what the
pros/cons are between doing a residency in OB/GYN and doing a residency in Family Practice and specializing in OB.•

My brother does OB-GYN, so this is his perspective...

Due to the massive insurance premiums, as a FP, you will likely be delivering only low-risk pregnancies. No high risk stuff or C-Sections. Although you might do some LTCS during your training, in the outside world, most hospitals (especially metropolitan ones) strictly reserve them for the gynecologists.

You'll also find that a lot of FPs don't deliver babies strictly because of the time element -- all it takes is for one of your patients to suddently go into labor and suddenly your entire patient schedule that afternoon is down the tubes.