Psych undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmie411

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently interested in the field of psychology and pharmacy. Next september I will be applying universities in Toronto for pre pharmacy, or psychology. I am considering doing my undergrad in psych at Ryerson, Waterloo, or UFT. Can anyone advise me on what type of work is done during a psych undergrad. Does it consist of tons of essays? What are assignments like? Final exams? I am not much of a great writer and would like to see if I will be able to maintain a high GPA. Any words of advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know much about pharmacy undergrad, nor can I say that I am expert in Psych for undergrad. I do have friends that studied (or studying for both). I graduated with a BSW just early this year but if I do have to generalize, I know enough that in the "soft" sciences, you're going to be writing ... alot. If you're not doing math, you're going to be writing sorry to say :D. Reading comprehension skills is a plus, since the ability to extrapolate information is directly tied to being able to write on a competent, college-level paper. If you are unsure about either choices I recommend calling up the college department that you are interested in applying for, speak with somebody who may give you some "unofficial" guidance on the program, and possibly counsel you on the requirements and expectation of the field and the program. After all, you are going to be spending 4+ years of your life studying, so make it an informed choice. Although your degree matters less as an undergrad imo...