SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Psychiatry as a career questions

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by Maygyver, Jun 14, 2008.

1. Maygyver

Maygyver 5+ Year Member

Jun 13, 2008
    Hello. I'm currently an undergrad student going and will be going into my third year. Lately I've been trying to figure out what profession I would enjoy the best between physician and dentist and just recently began thinking about psychiatry. I had concerns about how much 'wear and tear' the job has on you after working with ill people all day. I was also wondering if the job was exciting each day and doesn't become boring and monotonous after awhile. I've read through a few of the previous posts and already learned quite alot. Thanks!
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Doc Samson

Doc Samson gamma irradiated Physician 10+ Year Member

Dec 2, 2005
    Not Boston anymore
    I chose psychiatry specifically because each day is totally different. No boredom or monotony thus far for me.
  4. RaistlinMajere

RaistlinMajere 7+ Year Member

Jul 18, 2004
    This is a big factor for me choosing psych as well. It's simply the most stimulating specialty for me and I know I'll never be bored.
  5. whopper

whopper Former jolly good fellow Physician Faculty 10+ Year Member

Feb 8, 2004
    Well, this may sound a bit funny, but as much as I love Psychiatry & would pick it all over again, a part of me wonders what would've happened if I chose dentistry.

I have no real interest in it other than that dentists work a lot with materials that are needed for model building--a hobby of mine. I could've become a much better modeler had I gone to dental school! E.g I'd be able to cast, sculpt, glue etc much better!

Anyways, and this may be a prejudical statement that I invite people to correct because I'm basing this on what I hear, not what I truly know....