Psychiatry Attending is Psychoanalyzing me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocMur

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm in my third year psychiatry clerkship and I swear my attending is analyzing me. On Friday, she was working in odd questions into the conversation, like am I superstitious or do I believe in voodoo. I wanted to say "no, I am not schizotypal why are you asking?" Honestly, I do think I have some schizoid traits (like most med students who prefer to bury themselves in work rather than go out to the bar with some old college buddies). And, maybe I'm exhibiting some cluster A traits, specifically paranoia. Anyway, I know I'm going to be super uncomfortable around this attending for the rest of the rotation. How do I get through it while fearing my attending thinks I have a personality disorder? Is there an appropriate way to get them to stop?

Members don't see this ad.

Ask her if she knows how to take BP. When she says no tell her to stop with the ****ing questions and you will too

So, I'm in my third year psychiatry clerkship and I swear my attending is analyzing me. On Friday, she was working in odd questions into the conversation, like am I superstitious or do I believe in voodoo. I wanted to say "no, I am not schizotypal why are you asking?" Honestly, I do think I have some schizoid traits (like most med students who prefer to bury themselves in work rather than go out to the bar with some old college buddies). And, maybe I'm exhibiting some cluster A traits, specifically paranoia. Anyway, I know I'm going to be super uncomfortable around this attending for the rest of the rotation. How do I get through it while fearing my attending thinks I have a personality disorder? Is there an appropriate way to get them to stop?