PTCB cert before or after landing a job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DesiThumbi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've been trying to get at job at least as a cashier at a pharmacy and can't get one anywhere!!!! ahh!...I have no previous pharmacy experience so I was just wondering would it be smart to go ahead and study and get ptcb certification and just go for a tech position. Anyone else go this route or would recommend it. And is experience necessary to pass the exam?

Members don't see this ad.

It depends where you are. Some states require that you get certification before.

I would just go for a job, get on the job training, and then take the test after 3 months, that way the company pays for you test. I didn't do much book studying for the test I took, but I was on the job for 20+ months when I took it, so the calculations came pretty easy to me.

The only trouble I had was with some weird questions corresponding to laminar hoods, and some law questions about DEA Order Forms.

It only helps your resume and chances of getting a job to be certified. Experience is not necessary to pass the test it only helps with brand/generic questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
you must be in California? I am having the same problem, and I am going to take the September PTCB exam.

I am in Colorado and I had a job offer after I finished the 12 week course in June and it was before the exam (August). I agree that it all depends on where you live, location of the store, what hours the stores are looking (full time or part time?), and etc ....

also, if the store is new and just built, they offer full time jobs but you have to talk to the pharmacy manager/pharmacist right away....

any of you guys take online course for your pharm tech cert?