superman007

5+ Year Member
Apr 12, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
So, Im an upcoming freshman at UNC. Im majoring in Comp Sci but i will be on the pre med track. I definitely want to be part of global health in the future. So, my question is: would getting a BS in PH be a good idea? Is it common to have doctors getting a BSPH. Im hoping that it would be common.

Also, is there a specific concentration that is generally preferred compared to others such as epidemiology or biostatistics?

Thanks, Im very new to how all these Pre-Health fields work. So, sorry if i seem kind of lost.

Stories

Life Afficianado
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2009
Los Angeles, CA
Sounds like you've got a lot of interests.

A BSPH is a great way to get the fundamentals of a PH education. I don't know if a ton of physicians have the BSPH as their bachelor's degrees (I would bet that distinction goes to Biology and Bio-related majors), but that doesn't mean you can't major in something that's atypical for a physician (such as your major of Computer Science) and become one.

The biggest question you should ask yourself is, what value does having a public health education add to what you'd like to do in the future. If your interest is as general as "global health", you may not even need to do any formal education in PH. For instance, if you want to be a physician working in a global setting, the PH education is unnecessary (although it'd be helpful, I'm sure).

You should pursue what you're interested in for your undergraduate studies--don't do a PH degree just because you think you should. You should do the PH degree because you want to do it. I'm assuming you're going with CS because you have an interest in programming. If that's your first instinct, go with it. You could always minor in PH or even double major with PH.

Dec 9, 2009
Status