public health service

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rkaz

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can I list the Public Health Service as my first choice when I apply to USUHS? I went to the Public Health Service's homepage, but I couldn't seem to find information on what exactly they do, and how they compare to military brances like army, navy, AF. So what exactly does the PHS do, and how does it compare to the other branches in terms of opportunities, etc? Considering that I have a master's degree in public health, I feel I should know something more about it... but I don't, unfortunately. I wonder if having an MPH would help in me getting a PHS spot. However, I've heard those spots fill fast, and my application will be processed late (as I've submitted my application already, but am taking the September MCAT).

Any info would be most appreciated... thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

google the PHS commissioned corps, it had a lot of info when i was curious about what they do.....and also, theres a seperate PHS forum on Student Doc Network...go to Forums ---> USPHS / IHS

Hey thanks for suggesting the USPHS.gov webiste... it did have a good deal of useful information.

I also checked out the Public Health Service/IHS forum, but there were few threads there (and many of them were from pharmacy students). I did a search on this site, but I couldn't find much helpful information on joining the PHS as a medical student.

I've read threads on this forum about the negatives about military medicine... but it seems everyone is talking about navy, army, or air force. Do the same limitations of military medicine apply to the PHS?