Public Service Loan Forgiveness Petition

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JaySea

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program is a federal repayment program that pays off your debt after 10 years of IBR payments. There is a new act called: Student Loan Forgiveness Act of 2012 and this will reduce the 10 years to 5 years. I'm currently starting my 3rd year as a navy dentist and I still have 175K of debt but I've been paying on it with the IBR and my payments have only been around 400 a month. I lower my AGI via TSP and since I have a wife and 2 kids that helps lower my payment too. I did the HSCP program because I am a prior dental tech and had time in already so I came in as an 03E with 9 years after the 4 years of dental school added 4 years of time to my active duty. So, this being said if you are contemplating HPSP versus HSCP I'd highly recommend you think about your decision carefully because with the PSLFP you can max out your loans as an HSCP person (put money in the bank via loans) and then have them forgiven in 5-10 years. To sign this petition and help lower it to 5 years go to:

http://signon.org/sign/support-the-student-loan.fb1?source=s.fb&r_by=3580410

Members don't see this ad.

Nice idea, but where does the money come from? Many more people would take this route if it was only 5 years. I guess just toss it into our national debt slush fund...:rolleyes:

it comes from my taxes.

you're welcome.

Members don't see this ad :)
see my reply to txaggie03

Last edited:
it comes from my taxes.

you're welcome.