Pursuing Biomedical Informatics as a Potential Research Topic in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

teerock

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a pre-med student that is thinking about what research topics to pursue in medical school (regular MD, not MD/PhD). I have been programming for quite some time (I'm a career changer with training in engineering). I've come across Biomedical Informatics as a potential research area and I'd like to know more about the type of work that someone doing research in this field does.

For any medical students that are pursuing Bioinformatics research or research that uses Bioinformatics currently:
- What is your research topic and why did you choose this? What does a day in your life look like?
- What statistics/mathematics/computer science foundational concepts do you think are absolutely essential for your work?
- If you didn't have a bioinformatics/data science background, how did you go about learning what you needed to know for your work?

I've looked online a bit already to get an idea of what Bioinformatics sort of entails but I would like to hear from an actual person in the field. If there is a better place to ask this question, please let me know! Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!! =)

Members don't see this ad.