[Deleted Thread]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted871754

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Isn’t there a back door into optho with neuro + fellowship? It may not be as surgical iirc

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a 3rd-year med student at a low to mid-tier MD school in the USA. I'm in a tough position because I've wanted to do Ophthalmology for the past 3 years however I am currently not competitive enough. I only scored 232 on Step 1 and am merely in the top half of my graduating class so I'm a pretty average student academically.

In order to keep my ophtho dreams alive, I've been seeking out research opportunities and found a great one at a hospital with a top 10 ranked ophthalmology department in the nation. The physician I would be working with is very respected in the field and a recommendation letter from him would be pretty powerful. I'm wondering if taking a research year after my MS3 year to work in his lab and get a ton of publications would be enough for residency programs to overlook my low step score. I would also have extra time to study for step 2 and would try to get a 250 but I'm not the greatest test-taker so that's no guarantee.

The rest of my application is average but nothing special. I have 1 research paper in a high-impact journal but in like 5th author, I have some leadership roles and some volunteer work. My backup plan would be to go into internal medicine and subspecialize but I'm struggling to find the same passion I have for ophtho in that field.

Any advice/insight is appreciated. I know that pursuing ophthalmology would be an uphill climb for me but I just want to know if there's any hope or if I should just stick to IM.