1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

QBank: Take tests by discipline or "mixed"?

Discussion in 'Step I' started by amy2003uva, May 5, 2007.

1. amy2003uva

amy2003uva Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I'm currently taking 50q blocks based on the discipline I'm studying at the moment, and am taking "mixed" (random) 50q exams on Sundays.

How are you all using Qbank/USMLEworld? My husband is doing only mixed exams and I wonder which approach is better.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. TX_Longhorn

TX_Longhorn OU sucks
    5+ Year Member

amy,

try doin both. doin 50 mixed a day is the key. u might start out low but u ll go up as u relearn old stuff. in addition, try doin a few more questions pertaining to what ur studin for that day.

4. blz

blz Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I start the day off with 50 questions mixed (of topics I've already covered, I keep adding each day with new topics finished - that way I keep getting refreshed) then finish the day off with 50 questions of the topic I was studying. It's good to do questions first thing in the morning because it kick starts the day (I always have trouble starting.) I'm a little against the totally random question thing because I think it's stupid to just do questions about topics you haven't studied yet because 1) you get stupid questions wrong because you didn't sit down and memorize a detail 2) your score is less of a reflection of your abilities and 3) it takes longer to review your answers if it's something you haven't covered. I like this method because I don't have to spend over an hour going over questions I've gotten wrong. Plus, I feel like I gain more insight from incorrect answers because I understand the material at a greater level.

5. ertugrul

10+ Year Member

Non-Student
    I'm second

6. amy2003uva