Quality of life....Not lifestyle...In plastic surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rubberband

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, Im a medical student who finished 3rd year and Im taking some time off for research. I'm really interested in plastics, and really like the reconstructive and even some of the cometic work they do as well. The lifestyle/work hours from what Ive seen isnt significantly better or worse than other subspecialties and generally doesn't worry me. What I did hear during my third year is that plastics is one of the most stressful and litigious of the surgical subspecialties. Additionally, running a private practice is by far a pleasant experience with constant turf battles and politics involved.

So I'm not so much asking "Am I going to have to work long hours?" or "Am I going to make a good living?". I know I'll most likely work long hours and that I'll be compensated reasonably; what I am thinking is more the mental toll the practice takes on the plastic surgeons mentally. Is there significant burnout because of that? Honestly this isn't the kind of question Im comfortable asking any of the plastics I know (I don't feel comfortable enough yet). I was hoping I could get some insight here. Thanks for your help guys!

Members don't see this ad.

you can always go into academics and teach and sew firefighters faces back on for a meager $300k/yr if making 1.5m/yr doing boobies gets too stressful for your delicate personality

Plastic Surgery is not easy, at all. Academic institutions do not give a realistic view as they have pediatric hospitals, cancer centers and more that feed huge numbers of patients. Academic plastic surgeons are one of the few specialties that make more in academics than the average private practice.