quandary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rkirsch

BabyDoc80
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in a quandary... and I know this is a long one but bear with me…

Here’s my situation...

I graduated in 04’ in Zoology and Physiology with minors in Business and Theatre. My GPA was about a 3.4. (Not too fly). My Pre-Med package isn’t too shabby- includes research, (one in sperm physiology and motility!! Loved it!) extra-curricular activities- (I was active) – chief editor of the student magazine, Mortar Board, president of a gazillion things, honors program, study-abroad, certified nursing assistant (worked in hospitals), shadowed physicians, my professors were great and I know I will get stellar recommendations and I went to the Summer Medical and Dental Education Program (SMDEP) at Yale. (Yes, I am URM- (who the hell comes up with these acronyms???) I am black female!)

BUT I did not do well in my senior year - got C's in Both Organic Chem., Genetics and Physiology. What the *&^%!*% happened? Fell sick, a divorce happened (caveat: do not get married during your freshman year when you are 18 and really stupid!!!)

I know, I know, it gets better…I needed a break from school and I wasn’t going to spend another second in a lab counting sperm so I figured what the hell! And decided get an MBA! Maybe work for a year… well that year is over… and here I am still deciding if I should still go to medical school.

I’m turning 26 soon. I am an analyst and I make close to 100K a year…. I don’t hate my job but it is not really inspiring (except when I’m reading posts on SDN). But then again I could skip the medical thing and the residency and be making over 200K in 5-7 years except I am apprehensive that I might be freaking bored, unchallenged and an alcoholic…(might be too late for that last one…) by the time I am 35…

Please tell me, what would you do?

R

Members don't see this ad.

rkirsch said: