Question about DAT difficulty vs. Kaplan p. tests

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sbhatt87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a little over a month to prepare for my DATs, and I have been studying for four months or so now. I have taken four practice tests that the Kaplan course has given me and I have gotten an 18, 18, 18.5, and an 18.5 on the four. I was wondering if the real test is easier/harder than the ones Kaplan gives or is it about the same. I've usually heard that the former is true but I want to make sure. Also, are these scores for the p.tests are a good start?

Members don't see this ad.

I took the DAT about 6 months ago and I will tell you, as I can remember, its pretty much the same...the bio however, was easier on the Kaplan. Use like AP bio or something to study that. Everything else was pretty much the same. whatever your scoring your pretty much will score the same thing but cuz of the bio is harder juss subtract 1 or 2 for that section. Use DAT destrouer cuz I heard it was a lot harder than the real thing...I wish I could have done that!

the kaplan classroom course? i was scoring 26's consistently in bio on the practice tests but got lower on the real thing.

but I never surpassed 20's in orgo or chem on the practice tests but did much better on the real thing ( was actually getting like 15-16's sometimes).