becool5

15+ Year Member
Sep 29, 2003
Philadelphia, PA
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Hello, I tried to find information about this topic on various threads but I couldn't find anything. I have a Bachelors Degree in Anthropology and I have taken most of the usual pre-reqs for medical school (O.Chem, Physics, Physiology, Cell Bio, etc). I plan on applying to medical school in the next 2 years, but right now I am working to save money. I can take classes for free however because I work for a university. I was wondering how my under-grad GPA will change if I take undergrad courses. Will my GPA change as if I never graduated? Or is there a seperate post-bac GPA? I assume that if it is a graduate level class then the grade/GPA will be seperate. Also, if I take a class that I have already taken, how is my GPA effected? I heard that the two grades are averaged together. Thank you in advance for any help.

Heal&Teach

cogito ergo sum
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Oct 24, 2003
adsum
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Hi becool5...

Your GPA on the AMCAS application is broken down into BCPM GPA (bio, chem, phys, & math), as well as an all other GPA. You will have to enter your undergraduate grades, plus grades from any graduate work or post-bacc programs. In addition, you will submit transcripts from any school at which you did coursework, so your total undergraduate and/or post-graduate GPA will be seen individually as well. So, if you take any science classes, these will figure into your BCPM, and any other classes would fit into the all other category. Also, take a look at the breakdown on the AAMC website, as shown in the AMCAS manual:

http://www.aamc.org/students/amcas/2004instructionbook.pdf

Course classification information starts on page 28, and the bottom of page 34 starts to talk about the AMCAS grading system, transcripts, etc.

Hope this helps.
H&T

LizS

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 27, 2003
Status (Visible)
Hello: